News of Otsego County

Serving Otsego County, NY, through the combined reporting of Cooperstown's Freeman's Journal and the Hometown Oneonta newspapers.



OJCA Honors Community Partner 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

OJC Adds Community Friends

To 2018 Hall of Fame Class

From right: Qimane Williams, Bob the Bulldog, and Chris Kuhn, Director of the Oneonta Job Corps Academy, stand with the 2018 inductees into the OJCA Community partner Hall of Fame Inductees Ian Austin, The Oneonta Teen Center and Hometown Oneonta, Betty Lee, NAACP and Human Rights Commission, Kaler Carpenter, Club Odyssey, Jeanette Mulford, Days For Girls, Vanessa Pellegrino, NY Goat Yoga, and Alan Donovan, Friends of Oneonta Municipal Airport and GOHS. The six were honored for their support and involvement with the OJCA students in a brief ceremony before the start of the 5th annual community softball game between Oneonta Job Corps Academy and The Family Resource Network, this evening at Damaschke Field. (Libby Cudmore/


Best Of The Best Honored By Chamber

Best Of The Best Honored

By Cooperstown Chamber

Matt Hazzard, executive director, Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce, center rear, poses for a photo of the Chamber’s Hall of Fame inductees for 2018. From left, Phil Leinhart and Rick DeBar, Brewery Ommegang; Joe Sirracusa , Danielle Henrici and Todd Kenyon, The Farmer’s Museum; Gretchen Sorin and Cathy Raddatz, Cooperstown Graduate Program; Randy Smith, Spurbeck’s Grocery; Sarah Lucas and Stacie Haynes, Susquehanna Animal Shelter, and Hanna Bergene, executive associate, Cooperstown Chamber. (Ian Austin/AllOTSEGO)
Val Paige, director, Clark Sports Center, accepts the Business of the Year award from Matt Hazzard during the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce Hall of Fame induction awards ceremony this evening at The Farmer’s Museum.

COOPERSTOWN – The Farmers’ Museum, Brewery Ommegang, The Cooperstown Graduate Program, the Susquehanna Animal Shelter and Spurbeck’s Grocery were honored as the 2018 class of the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce’s Hall of Fame during a ceremony at The Farmers’ Museum earlier this evening.

“In the four years that I’ve been with the Chamber, this is my favorite day of the year,” said Matt Hazard, executive director. “We live in a very special place, and it’s fun to recognize these organizations that contribute so much for our community.”

Also honored were five winners in the Business of the Year category.

Joe Hughes Honored as OHS Alumni of the Year

Reunion Weekend ’17

Joe Hughes Honored

As OHS Alumnus Of ’17

Joe Hughes, ’76, Oneonta High School athletic director and Oneonta Outlaws manager, basks in the crowd’s applause as he is recognized as the OHS Alumnus of the Year  at the 2017 Wall of Fame & Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony at Belden Auditorium this morning. Wall of Fame inductees were Milton Collins, ’51, Dr. Charles Mitchell, ’47, Eric Spaziani, ’74, Edward Syron, ’67, and Michael Zagata, ’60. The Athletic Hall of Fame inductees were Kim Kurkowski Huffman, ’80, William Elwood IV, ’98, Stephen Downey, ’87, Thomas Duffy, and the 1999 OHS Boys Soccer Team. (Ian Austin/
Homer Osterhoudt Baseball Photo Gallery
Posts navigation

21 Railroad Ave. Cooperstown, New York 13326 • (607) 547-6103