Rock & Roll Portraits Due At Fenimore Museum


Famed Rock & Roll Portraits

Due At Fenimore Museum

David Bowie, as photographed by Herb Ritts. The exhibit, part of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame collection, will be on display at the Fenimore Art Museum from April-September.

By LIBBY CUDMORE • Special to

Herb Ritts

COOPERSTOWN – Madonna, Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan and more will grace the walls of The Fenimore Museum, beginning April 2, as an exhibit,  “Herb Ritts: The Rock Portraits,” opens.

On loan from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, Ohio, the exhibit will feature some of the iconic rock photographer’s best known portraits, including David Bowie, Tina Turner, Michael Jackson, Paul McCartney, Elton John and more.

Visitors will see how Ritts captured the likes of the world’s biggest music stars, and in the process helped define their iconic status for generations of fans.

Additionally the exhibit will feature some of the costumes and instruments used by the artists featured in the exhibition.

Also announced today were as follows:

Elephant and Piggie in We Are Art!
April 2–May 15, 2019

Hamilton’s Final Act: Enemies and Allies
April 2–December 31, 2019

Eugene and Clare Thaw: A Memorial Tribute
April 2–December 31, 2019

Early American Face Jugs
April 2–December 31, 2019

Will Wilson Tintypes
April 2–December 31, 2019

Perfect Harmony: The Musical Art & Life of William Sidney Mount
May 25–September 8, 2019

Floating Palaces of the Hudson
(Shown in conjunction with Glimmerglass Festival’s production of Kern and Hammerstein’s Show Boat.)
June 29–September 15, 2019

Duane Michals: The Portraitist
September 14–November 10, 2019

Heroines of Abstract Expressionism
September 18–December 31, 2019

Michele Harvey watercolors
September 21–December 31, 2019


One thought on “Rock & Roll Portraits Due At Fenimore Museum

  1. Kurt ohearn

    Sounds like a plan i live over the hill to the west in Moravia hope to get out to see exhibit in the summer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Prove you're not a robot: *