News of Otsego County

Serving Otsego County, NY, through the combined reporting of Cooperstown's Freeman's Journal and the Hometown Oneonta newspapers.


preservation awards

After Hiatus, HPARB Revives Preservation Awards


After Hiatus, Village HPARB

Revives Preservation Awards

After a hiatus of several years, the Village of Cooperstown’s Historical Preservation & Architectural Review Board revived its annual Preservation Awards and presented 10 in Village Hall’s Ballroom this evening. Honorees, from right, are: William and Kathryn Dystra, 17 Elm St.; Perry and Cathy Ferrara, Railroad Inn; Luke and Lynae Ann Wycoff, 36 Delaware St.; Bill and Deb LeCates, 87 Chestnut St.; Rev. Joe Perdue, standing, First Baptist Church; Karen Crissmann, seated, 9 Pine Blvd.; Michael Bottiggi, standing, CVS store manager; Veronica Gil Seaver, sitting, 160 Main St., and Teresa Drerup, standing, 18 Cooper Lane. The Dystras, Wycoffs, Lecates, Karen Crissman, and Drerup and husband Kurt Ofer were cited for Thoughtful Rehabilitation; the Ferraras for Sensitive Accessibility Improvements; Perdue and Seaver for Window Restoration, and CVS for Sensitive New Construction. HPARB chair Liz Callahan emceed after a welcome by Mayor Ellen Tillapaugh Kuch. (Jim Kevlin/
Leigh Eckmair, 1743 Palatine House Win Otsego 2000 Preservation Honors

Leigh Eckmair, 1743 Palatine House

Win Otsego 2000 Preservation Prizes

Otsego 2000's Preservation Advocate Award will be presented to advocates of the 1743 Palatine House.
Otsego 2000’s Preservation Advocate Award will be presented to advocates of the 1743 Palatine House this evening at the Roseboom Historical Association.
Leigh Eckmair
Leigh Eckmair

ROSEBOOM – Otsego 2000’s 2015 Preservation Advocate Award this evening will be presented to Leigh Eckmair, Town of Butternuts and Village of Gilbertsville historian, for “working tirelessly for more than 25 years to restore and maintain the beauty” of her communities.

The ceremony for Otsego 2000’s Preservation Awards will be 5:30-7:30 p.m. today at the Roseboom Historical Association.

Otsego 2000 Seeks Nomination For 2016 Preservation Awards

Otsego 2000 Seeks Nominees

For 2016 Preservation Awards

Laurie and Charles Shipley's House in Laurens was a 2015 winner.
Laurie and Charles Shipley’s House in Laurens was a 2015 winner.

COOPERSTOWN – Otsego 2000 is accepting nominations for its 2016 Historic Preservation Awards, recognizing efforts in Otsego and Schoharie counties to preserved historic homes, storefronts, commercial and agricultural buildings that contribute to our communities’ sense of place.

The deadline is March 30.  Nomination forms are available at, by e-mailing, or by calling 547-8881.  Categories include:

  • Cornerstone Award: For a project that promotes a preservation ethic through the maintenance, repair, or adaptive reuse of a historic building or landscape.  Cornerstone projects need not be large in scale; rather they are the foundational projects that preserve historic character and integrity piece by piece.

Posts navigation

21 Railroad Ave. Cooperstown, New York 13326 • (607) 547-6103