Freshmen Nicosia, Rafter To Chair City Common Council Committees

Freshmen Nicosia, Rafter To Chair

City Common Council Committees

oneonta city sealONEONTA – Two new Common Council members will be appointed to chair two of the Council’s four committees when the new members meet for the first time at the reorganizational meeting at 7 p.m. Tuesday in City Hall.


Melissa  Nicosia will chair the Community Development Committee, and John Rafter the Legislative Committee.   Veteran Council members David Rissberger and Russ Southard will chair the Operations/Planning/Evaluations Committee and Finance/Human Resources Committee respectively.

Southard is in line to be appointed acting mayor when Herzig is out of town, a position he held for a year following Mayor Miller’s October 2014 passing.

Mayor Gary Herzig will make the following paid appointments, subject to Council approval:  David Merzig, city attorney; Mark Simonson, city historian; Virginia Lee, deputy finance director; Nicole Camarata, deputy purchasing agent; Fox Hospital/Dr. Chris Wolf-Gould, health officer, and Charles Bollinger, bingo inspector.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.