Hall of Fame welcomes six new ‘era’ inductees

2022 ‘Early Era’ inductee Bud Fowler already has his own street in the village.

Hall of Fame welcomes six new ‘era’ inductees

While Major League Baseball and the Players’ Association dance delicately or otherwise around the current lockout situation, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum presses ahead with news and announcements to keep the faithful alert throughout the winter.

This week, the Hall announced the election of six all-time greats through the Eras Committee process, inducting players from the ‘Golden Days’ (1950-69) and the ‘Early Baseball Era’ panels.

Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Minoso, and Tony Oliva enter the Hall from the Golden Days; Bud Fowler and Buck O’Neil from the Early Era.

Hall of Fame Director of Communications Craig Muder said Jim Kaat and Tony Oliva – the two new inductees still living – will be in Cooperstown for induction ceremonies slated for July 24. They’ll join other Class of 2022 honorees and Hall of Famers for Hall of Fame Weekend, July 22-25.

The Hall announces any new electees emerging from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America voting on Tuesday, January 25, 2022.

As this issue of The Freeman’s Journal/Hometown Oneonta heads to press, the Baseball Hall of Fame is preparing to announce the winner of this year’s “Career Excellence Award” from the Baseball Writers’ Association, as well as the 2022 Ford C. Frick Award winner for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Prove you're not a robot: *