Akron Beacon-Journal Writer Ocker To Receive Spink Award At Induction

Akron Beacon-Journal Writer Ocker

To Receive Spink Award At Induction

COOPERSTOWN – Sheldon Ocker, who covered the Cleveland Indians for 33 seasons, was elected the 2018 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award “for meritorious contributions to baseball writing”  in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, it was announced today.

He will receive the award during the National Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Weekend July 27-30, 2018, in Cooperstown.

Ocker received 168 votes from the 426 ballots, including two blanks, cast by BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years’ service in becoming the 69th winner of the award since its inception in 1962 and named for the first recipient. Spink was a driving force of the Sporting News, known during his lifetime as the “Baseball Bible.”

Jim Reeves, an award-winning columnist and baseball writer in a 40-year career with the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, received 143 votes. Patrick Reusse, who has spent the better part of 43 years writing about baseball in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, got 113.

Ocker, 75, began covering the Indians for the Akron Beacon Journal after 10 years of covering the NBA’s Cleveland Cavaliers. He was one of only three Indians beat writers at the ABJ since 1930 and covered the team from 1981 through 2013. Ocker was national president of the BBWAA in 1985 and served as chair of the Cleveland Chapter 11 times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Prove you're not a robot: *