Advertisement. Advertise with us


Golf Tourney Raises $50K

For Pathfinder Scholarships

The team of Wait, Hayford, Schlather and Mirabito poses with new Hall of Fame Member Lee Smith on the 18th green during the Pathfinder Village-Baseball Hall of Fame Golf Invitational at The Otesaga’s Leatherstocking Golf Course on Tuesday, Sept. 4. (Photo by Milo Stewart Jr./ National Baseball Hall of Fame)

COOPERSTOWN – The team of Bob Schlather, Jeff Wait, Denny Mirabito and Earle Hayford combined for a first-place win at the Pathfinder Village-Baseball Hall of Fame Golf Invitational Tuesday, Sept. 4, at the Leatherstocking Golf Course.

The charity event raised an estimated $50,000 in support of scholarships at Pathfinder, the Edmeston community for people with Down syndrome and other developmental disabilities. Another $12,000 will go toward the Hall of Fame ongoing educational programs.

2019 Inductee Lee Smith, the Chicago Cubs relief pitcher, was celebrity host of the tourney, sponsored by The Otesaga Resort Hotel at Leatherstocking for 37 years.  NBT Bank and Coca-Cola Bottling of Northern New England were co-sponsors.

The post-Labor Day competition featured 23 foursomes playing a two-best ball format.\

In second with 125 was the NBT Bank/Albany team of Alan Alexander, Jerry Mastriani, John Roberts and Bob Snyder Sr.; third with 126 was Chris Baker, Brian Bruno, Mike Brown and Ron Clark, representing Coca-Cola Bottling.

Other top teams included the NYCM Insurance foursome of Dan Robinson, Bob Snyder, Mike Perrino and Jim Potts (126), and Vince Foti, Dave Weaver, Tim Miller and Brent Patry, representing Community Bank, finished in fifth with a 128.

Perrino and Frank Vergari received Closest to the Pin prizes, at Hole 3 and 12, respectively. In all, over $6,500 were awarded in prizes to the 1st-5th teams.

The tradition of a Hall of Famer as the master of ceremonies began in 2004 and includes: 2018: Carlton Fisk; 2017: Tim Raines; 2016: Rollie Fingers; 2015: Ryne Sandberg; 2014: Bobby Cox; 2013: Rollie Fingers; 2012: Fergie Jenkins; 2011: Johnny Bench; 2010: Jim Rice; 2009: Mike Schmidt; 2008: Harmon Killebrew; 2007: Mike Schmidt; 2006: Robin Roberts; 2005: Carlton Fisk; 2004: Phil Niekro.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

SCOLINOS: It’s All We Need To Know: Home Plate 17 Inches Wide

COLUMN VIEW FROM THE GAME It’s All We Need To Know: Home Plate 17 Inches Wide Editor’s Note:  Tim Mead, incoming Baseball Hall of Fame president, cited John Scolinos, baseball coach at his alma mater, Cal Poly Pomona, as a lifelong inspiration, particularly Scolinos’ famous speech “17 Inches.” Chris Sperry, who published, heard Scolinos deliver a version in 1996 at the American Baseball Coaches Association in Nashville, and wrote this reminiscence in 1916 in his “Baseball Thoughts” column. By CHRIS SPERRY • from In 1996, Coach Scolinos was 78 years old and five years retired from a college coaching…

Sports Can Resume, Superintendents Told

CLICK HERE FOR MEMO TO SCHOOLS Sports Can Resume, Superintendents Told COOPERSTOWN – In a memo released Friday evening, county Public Health Director Heidi Bond advised local school superintendents that sports can resume as early as Monday. “Effective Feb. 1, participants in higher-risk sports may participate in individual or distanced group training and organized no/low-contact group training,” Bond wrote, “…including competitions and tournaments, if permitted by local health authorities.”…

Piper Seamon Scores 1,000th point

1,000 THANKS! Piper Seamon 5th CCS Girl To Hit High Mark The Cooperstown Central student section erupts as Piper Seamon scores her 1,000th career point in the Hawkeyes’ 57-39 win over Waterville at home last evening. Seamon becomes the fifth girl and only the 14th player in school history overall to score 1,000 points.  Inset at right, Pipershares a hug with teammate Meagan Schuermann after the game was stopped to acknowledge her achievement. Seamon will play basketball next year at Hamilton College. (Cheryl Clough/  …