SUNY Student Running for Common Council

SUNY Student Running for Common Council By TED MEBUSTONEONTASUNY Oneonta political science major and Maryland, New York native Andrew Hamill announced his candidacy for Oneonta Common Council in December, running as a member of his own party, “Unity for Oneonta.” Hamill hopes to bring accountability and pragmatism to the council, vowing to lead with a spirit of compromise. “We need Common Council members who are willing, and dedicated to reason and building a consensus with their constituents,” said Hamill. “As…


In Memoriam: Wayne L. Allen, Sr., 76 February 7, 1946 – December 29, 2022

In Memoriam Wayne L. Allen, Sr., 76 February 7, 1946 – December 29, 2022 MARYLAND – Wayne Lee Allen, Sr., 76, passed away early Thursday morning, December 29, 2022, at his home in the Town of Milford. He was born February 7, 1946, in Bainbridge to the late Arthur W. and Marian Elizabeth (Williams) Allen. In his youth, he attended schools in Mount Vision and Laurens Central School and lived and worked on the family farm in Laurens and later…


Scouts selling Camp Henderson

Scouts putting Camp Henderson on the market The Boy Scouts of America Leatherstocking Council announced this week what it calls an “extremely difficult and sad decision” to sell its historic Camp Henderson Scout Reservation amid declining membership and the Council’s significant required contribution to the national Sexual Abuse Compensation Fund. The Camp, on the shore of Crumhorn Lake off Otsego County Route 35 in the Maryland, has hosted scouts for dozens of years. Ray Eschenbach, Leatherstocking Council Scout Director, told…


Primary elections to be held

Primary elections to be held STAFF REPORT • Special to Primary elections will be held in several Otsego County towns Tuesday, June 22, with early voting open this week. Go to https://www.otsego- for more information. Here is a list of local primary elections: Democratic Otsego County Representative, District 3(Laurens, Otego) Caitlin Ogden Jared Nepa Republican Town of Hartwick Supervisor Bryan F. LoRusso Robert J. O’Brien Councilman (Two) Christopher Briggs Jonathan Horth Cindy Carr Bruce Markusen Superintendent of Highways…


Deadlock Possible On Filling Vacancy On County Board

WILL DEMOCRATS STYMIE ACTION? Deadlock Possible On Filling Vacancy On County Board By JIM KEVLIN • Special to COOPERSTOWN – The county board’s Administration Committee recessed this morning without taking any action on the Democratic nominee to fill state Sen.-elect Peter Oberacker’s District seat. The committee interviewed Democrat Diane Addesso, the former Worcester town supervisor. But it decided, since the Admin Committee has a 3-2 Republican majority and has already endorsed Oneonta businesswoman Jennifer Mickle for the job, there…


GOP Nominates Businesswoman To County Board

GOP Nominates Businesswoman To County Board Maryland Resident, Oneonta Realtor Proposed As Oberacker Successor By JIM KEVLIN • Special to SCHENEVUS – Republican county committee members from the county board’s District 6 met last evening and nominated Jennifer Mickle, a Town of Maryland resident and Oneonta businesswoman, to succeed state Senator-elect Peter Oberacker, R-Schenevus, on the county board. The candidate, who also has experience in local government and community service, called it “a wonderful opportunity. I’ve always believed in…