Carson, Harrington Win Common Council Seats


Carson, Harrington Win

Common Council Seats

Shue, Drnek, Davies Also Join Board

Dick Breuninger, left, examines the election result tallies alongside Scott Harrington, who won his race for the Sixth Ward, Council member Dave Rissberger, Third Ward, and Len Carson, who won the Fifth Ward seat, at Foothills as the polls closed at 9 p.m. (Ian Austin/

By LIBBY CUDMORE • Special to

ONEONTA – Republicans have doubled their Common Council seats on Oneonta’s Common Council with wins by Len Carson, Fifth Ward, and Scott Harrington, Sixth Ward.

Carson defeated Democratic challenger Danielle Tonner 157-112; Harrington handily held back democrat Mark Boshnak 146-96.

But Democrats held three contested seat over Republicans; In the First Ward, Mark Davies defeated Seth Clark 200 – 32, Kaytee Lipari Shue toppled Jerid Goss 157-22 for the Fourth Ward, and Mark Drnek over Josh Bailey 102-73 for the Eighth Ward.

Incumbents David Rissberger, Third Ward and John Rafter, Seventh Ward both ran unopposed, and were joined by Luke Murphy, First Ward, a write-in candidate for Michele Frazier, who is moving out of the area.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Prove you're not a robot: *